Being color brave

Wonderful and written from the human heart of divine wisdom. You put many things in words that I’ve found difficult to express. Thank you, Deborah.

The Monster in Your Closet

Sandra Bland was taken into custody after failing to signal a lane change.

She died in custody a few days later. Though she’d tried to post bail just two hours before and would soon be starting her dream job, she was reported as having committed suicide.

I would have taken this story at face value a few months ago, but something happened to change that.

I was between jobs a couple months after events in Ferguson, Missouri inspired a series of protests across the nation. While my children slept, I browsed Twitter, Instagram and Vine for firsthand accounts of both protests and police brutality. I became increasingly agitated by the stark differences between firsthand–yet somehow “unofficial”?–accounts and the secondhand news media accounts treated as official. To hear the secondhand accounts represented as truth infuriated me. I also felt guilty, because I’d never before thought to question reporting I’d more or less taken for neutral presentation of fact…

View original post 1,218 more words

Posted on 07/22/2015, in Cases, Conceal Carry & SYG, Michael Brown - Ferguson, Tamir Rice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. “So, like I said, I made the conscious decision to wear the T-shirt. I felt like my heart was in the right place. I’m at peace with it and those that disagree with me, this is America, everyone has the right to their first amendment rights. Those who support me, I appreciate your support. But at the same time, support the causes and the people and the injustices that you feel strongly about. Stand up for them. Speak up for them. No matter what it is because that’s what America’s about and that’s what this country was founded on.”

    Andrew Hawkins

    I’m watching the TED video now. (Love TED)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This man has HAD it.

    Like

Your comments are welcomed.

