Do Not Use Laser Pointers With Dogs. Part 1

I’m on a mission with hope that my experience might help others and our precious pets.  This is an 8-part multi-part series.  I’m going into great detail because what happened put me on an unexpected journey.  Some of you might have experienced that journey, or are currently experiencing it.  Hopefully, you have not encountered that journey and the information in this series will help you, or someone you know to avoid it.

I want to also share how you can take an active part to prevent unknowing pet owners, and dogs and cats, from being brutally injured by a product that commits animal cruelty under the marketing deception that it’s a toy.

Additionally, I’m asking for your help to save dogs and cats by pursuing warning labels on laser pointer packaging.   It would be nice if sellers of laser pointers as toys for pets would voluntarily discontinue selling them, however, based on my experience with Petco, it’s humanly impossible to reach decisions makers.

In this series,  I’ll give you resources to articles and videos regarding laser pointers causing dogs obsessive, compulsive, disorder, (OCD).  This issue also applies to some cats.  It’s not my intent to ignore cats and cat owners.  My focus is on dogs because that is my personal experience. 

 

Gracie at 4 months old.

Visitors and followers might already know that I got an 8 week old puppy in June, 2023.  Her name is Gracie.  She’s a German Shepherd Dog.  They might also know that I had a difficult time finding a local trainer for her.  I’ve taken part in, or directly trained dogs since I was 8 years old, but I’m now a senior citizen  and it’s been 12 years since I trained a puppy.  I know my limitations, so I had a plan before I brought Gracie home. That plan involuntarily changed first, by not being able to find a local, experienced trainer and secondly, the laser pointer.

In August, I developed edema in both feet.  For 3 weeks, I could not get on shoes.  During those three weeks, I considered that I had to keep Gracie busy inside because I could not walk her.  I hired a local trainer and my main focus was to teach Gracie to walk at heel.  We had been walking and she was doing good, but she has that herding tendency to suddenly put her body across the front of me.  I figured the trainer would concentrate on walking at heel and we would move to other things once my feet were better.

Along with not being dependable, that local trainer betrayed my trust. Rather than teach Gracie to walk at heel, he put her on a 30 foot leash and allowed her to run wherever she wanted because he doesn’t believe a dog should be on leash — only come when called.   I terminated his service after 2 weeks.

It was not only physical exercise that Gracie needed, but mental exercise as well.  Gracie was approaching 5 months old.  I ordered a laser pointer online from Petco.  My intent was to use it to point to items and tell her the name so she would know the names of items.  My plan was to advance her to bringing me items on command.  I purchased the laser pointer based on the product’s description. 

The relevant part is, “… is irresistable [sic] to most pets – from dogs to birds …”

I came to learn, and will share in part 4, why it’s  irresistible and because of that, it causes OCD.

Next: Part 2 – The Laser Pointer Arrived.

Posted on 02/09/2024, in dogs, laser pointers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I HATE those things! We adopted a cat who had been blinded by a danged laser. Poor little thing could barely cope when we first adopted her…took literally YEARS for her to learn her way around the house.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hello Suze. Thanks for the comment. I’m so sorry to hear that your adopted cat was blinded by a laser. The good side is that you adopted her. There are real dangers with laser pointers. One article I read involves a boy who was playing with his pet with a laser pointer, and did not realize how the reflection of the laser got into his eyes. May you and your cat have many wonderful days!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Two sides to a story

    I had no idea that laser pointers can damage eyes. Wowie!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yes! That’s the only warning on laser pointers sold as toys for pets. So, don’t blind your dog or cat — just psychologically damage them to look for a red dot that cannot be captured.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Two sides to a story

        It’s a surprising conclusion that most of us wouldn’t think of. I don’t understand casually using something that can damage eyesight or cause psychological harm. I’m glad this situation is coming to light and hope that laser pointers won’t continue to be sold as pet toys, probably a stretch – maybe a class action lawsuit could make a difference – ?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Two sides,
          I responded to Jill’s comment about lawsuits but will copy and paste it here:
          In the final part of this series I’m suggesting an alternative to lawsuits.
          The reason for no lawsuits is because there is no expert witness to testify that dogs and cats are caused OCD after playing with laser pointers. No attorney will take such a case without an expert witness. Of all the professionals who write in support that it does, there have been no expert “studies”. What experts have conducted are “surveys”. In a coming part to this series, I address what I’ve learned about that. There are surveys and results. That’s the only way it can be studied. To place dogs and/or cats who have never been exposed to laser pointers, in a controlled environment where they are just to prove the results, is animal cruelty.

          Vets will not make a diagnosis with the cause because there are no professional “study” results. It will take pet-parents to file complaints and if necessary, testify at a hearing before the Commission that issues orders for warning labels. I’m gathering the information for that now and will present it in the final part of this series.

          Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion