Do Not Use Laser Pointers With Dogs. Part 2

Part 2.  The Laser Pointer Arrived.

My feet were still swollen so I could not get on shoes other than house-slippers.   I would take Gracie in the backyard to play fetch and play tug-o-war with her in the house.  After the laser pointer was delivered, I used it, pointing it to Gracie’s bed and saying “bed.”  She jumped for the red dot.  I then pointed to a toy, (squeaky pig) and said “pig”.  She ran for the red dot on the pig.  After about 10 minutes, I put the laser pointer down and told her “bed”.  She went to her bed.  I said “pig” and she went to the pig.   Later that day, we went through the exercise again.

The next time I used the laser pointer, I added more items.  The session was about 20 minutes and since she was having what I thought was fun, I pointed the laser on the floor for her to chase and allowed her to continue playing for an additional 10 minutes or so.

The third time using it, I noticed that Gracie was coming closer to me, like a dog does when playing tug-of-war and wants to get closer to your hand.  So, I stood up so not to point the laser close to her body and after going through her name-identity exercise, I pointed the laser on the floor and allowed her to chase it.

About a week thereafter, Gracie began digging into her bed.  She shredded it, pulling out the stuffing in the center and the sides.  Since I brought her home at 8 weeks old, she had never chewed or dug in her bed.  I perceived that she thought the laser dot was in her bed.  I threw the bed away and stopped using the laser thinking that was that.  It wasn’t.  With the bed gone, Gracie began digging at the floor where her bed once laid.  She knew where I kept the laser pointer and would go to the cabinet and whine, but I was not going to use it again.

Her digging in the floor where her bed once laid progressed to tearing up each toy that I had pointed to with the laser.  With those toys gone, she progressed to raising up on her hind legs and pouncing hard enough to shake items on tables.  She barked loud and excessively.  I could not get her attention.  This went on for almost 15 minutes.  Her eyes glazed and her tongue hung out the side of her mouth.  She moved her mouth close to anything that moved, including my hands, stopping short from putting her teeth on me.  I refer to this behavior as an “episode.”

I continued looking for a trainer and this behavior was something I wanted to focus on correcting.  It was my impression that Gracie simply needed to learn that the laser dot was not in the floor.  What could I do to convince her of that?  She is a highly intelligent breed.  Certainly, someone knew how to train her out of looking for the elusive laser beam. 

I contacted trainers that I found on the internet.  Some did not get back to me.  Location is important and it was difficult finding trainers in my local area.  Some only train by videos.  Some only train in the basics.  Some only train part-time, which is fine if you want to train after dark.  Then there are others who operate like a temporary personnel agency.  They want thousands of dollars upfront and then find a trainer.  (One tried to convince me to allow a trainer 90 miles away to take Gracie to board/train.  I would not get to meet and talk with that trainer unless paying upfront.)  And, their terms are to return the money if they cannot find a trainer after 30 days.  It was unacceptable to me to wait a month for a trainer while the agency held my money, and there was no guarantee that they could find a local trainer.  Gracie was growing fast. 

I began keeping a mental journal of Gracie’s episodes.  What I noticed was anytime Gracie gets a toy under the sofa and can’t see it, she has an episode. 

I cannot spray disinfectant spray or air freshener in the house with Gracie in the same room.  She can hear the spray and smell it, but she cannot see it.  She has an episode.

I cannot use a broom or mop where she sees me.  She has an episode.  Because I use those things on the floor where she thinks the laser beam is hiding, she wants to get in on the action of helping me find it.

Gracie was living by sight only.  I needed to get her sense of smell working more but how was I going to do that?  When she had an episode, I scattered treats, turkey, and chicken on the floor.  If she didn’t see where I threw them, she didn’t find them.  Okay – let me try it when she isn’t having an episode.  She has 2 Kongs and a puzzle ball.  I will use them more.   It seemed to be working when she had an episode because eventually,  I got her attention.

Gracie was sleeping less, and when she does sleep and an outside noise wakes her up, the hair is up on the back of her neck and she has an episode.

Gracie only has episodes when on the main floor of the house, which is where I was using the laser pointer to teach her the names of items and then a game of chase.  I never shined the laser on the wall, or on furniture, or used it outside.  I never used it after dark.  This conveyed to me that Gracie’s episodes were directly connected to where I used the laser, and the laser itself.  It had been months since I put the laser pointer away, but that laser beam was still in her mind.

I began giving Gracie Hemp Calming Treats.  I initially purchased them in effort for her to ride in the car without slimming.   Because I could not get shoes on, I hadn’t taken her anywhere in the car, I had not given her any.  The treats contain melatonin. The Hemp Calming Treats do not come with instructions on how often they can be given – just how many to give based on the dog’s weight.   And, those instructions are printed VERY small on the label.  When Gracie had an episode, I would give her 2 treats.  That didn’t stop the episodes, although I was able to eventually distract her so the episodes did not last long.  Maybe I hit the jackpot with the treat toys and the hemp treats.  Maybe not.

Next: Part 3 –  Being Responsible for Gracie In Spite of Her Behavior.

Posted on 02/10/2024, in dogs, laser pointers, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Two sides to a story

    Fascinating problem. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Two Sides, and you are welcomed. Another part is pending that covers my contact with Petco. Then another part contains credible sources that have reported laser pointers causing dogs to have OCD. It’s shameful that no pet store has stepped up and discontinued selling this “toy” that causes cats and dogs psychological injury.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Two sides to a story

        So interesting that laser pointers can cause behavioral difficulties. I wouldn’t have thought it possible until reading your post! I’m looking forward to reading the series.

        Definitely the laser pointers should be discontinued as a toy for pets or be labeled with a warning. I’ve never had one but I recall a friend or relative using one to play with cats.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Two sides,
          There are reports that cats develop OCD when played with laser pointers, and studies that it depends on how they are played with laser pointers. There are suggestions that the laser pointer play always end with letting the cat find a treat. There are no such suggestions like that for dogs. However, some making that suggestion also say that it’s best not to use a laser pointer.

          I’ve spoken with two politicians and two behavioral modification trainers. They are all of the opinion that seeking to discontinue selling laser pointers as toys is a lost cause. The warning label is more realistic. It’s like warnings on cigarettes — put it there and let the buyer beware.

          Like

  2. How awful … poor Gracie 🐶

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Jill. Gracie is getting better with being distracted when she’s triggered, but she still gets triggered. That’s the hurting thing. German Shepherds have an average life expectancy of 13 years. If she has to continue on medication for anxiety, that can damage her kidneys. The laser pointer has caused her a disorder for the rest of her life and trying to cure it might shorten her life. That’s so unfair, especially since the danger of laser pointers is known by professionals, but those damning “toys” are still being marketed and sold as “toys”.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I’m so glad to know she’s getting better! I agree … why are they still being marketed and sold as ‘toys’ when they can literally be life-threatening to dogs??? I’m surprised somebody hasn’t filed a lawsuit yet!

        Like

        • Jill,
          In the final part of this series I’m suggesting an alternative to lawsuits.
          The reason for no lawsuits is because there is no expert witness to testify that dogs and cats are caused OCD after playing with laser pointers. No attorney will take such a case without an expert witness. Of all the professionals who write in support that it does, there have been no expert “studies”. What experts have conducted are “surveys”. In a coming part to this series, I address what I’ve learned about that. There are surveys and results. That’s the only way it can be studied. To place dogs and/or cats who have never been exposed to laser pointers, in a controlled environment where they are just to prove the results, is animal cruelty.

          Vets will not make a diagnosis with the cause because there are no professional “study” results. It will take pet-parents to file complaints and if necessary, testify at a hearing before the Commission that issues orders for warning labels. I’m gathering the information for that now and will present it in the final part of this series.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Ahhhh … yes, I can see your point. I’ll be eagerly awaiting the final part of your series, then! Thanks, Xena, for all that you do!

            Like

          • Jill,
            Thanks so much for your interest and concern in this matter. I learn something new about this issue each time I research. I found that there are product damage laws that might apply to filing and prevailing on a lawsuit. When I searched for animal rights lawyers, the return was to lawyers who represent litigants who have been bitten by dogs. (sigh) There are a few advocating for the removal of certain dog breeds from dangerous lists for homeowner insurance purposes. Also, I found a petition on Change.org but the person posting it asked that manufacturers of laser pointers discontinue selling them. Yeah. Sure. That’s like asking drug dealers to stop selling drugs.

            Anyway, what started as a 7 part series has increased to 8 parts, and because I’m finding additional information, it might increase to 9 parts.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Wow, Xena … you’ve really done some deep research into this! Thank you! Heh heh … yeah, funny how those things go … you think you’re done and then something else comes to light, and something else, and still yet another tidbit, and pretty soon you’ve got more than you bargained for! Thank you, though, for doing this!

            Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion