Encouraging Music To Get You Through The Week

The song, Keep on Pushing, was written by Curtis Mayfield and originally recorded by the R&B group The Impressions.  It was released in 1964.   It is a song about perseverance and finding strength to get through tough times.

This song took on a new meaning for Mayfield after he was paralyzed in 1990 when a light tower fell on him during an outdoor performance in Brooklyn. In a 1997 interview, Mayfield said,   “I think my spirits are maybe even higher,” It’s like I died and woke up to see this wave of love from so many people I knew and people I didn’t know.”

Kirk Whalum brings a jazz version of the song. I hope it encourages those who need a lift-up.

 

 

Posted on 07/24/2017, in Happiness and Kindness, Happy Place, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. yahtzeebutterfly

    Great uplifting song. Thanks for posting it, Xena.

    From your article:

    In a 1997 interview, Mayfield said, “I think my spirits are maybe even higher,” It’s like I died and woke up to see this wave of love from so many people I knew and people I didn’t know.”

    So beautiful!

    Liked by 2 people

Join the discussion