Open Discussion

Caterpillars, butterflies, moths, a certain roach, and all creatures great and small,

Good morning! 

Respect_butterfly_largeHere’s a heartfelt welcome and thanks to all subscribers and visitors.  Your support and interest is greatly appreciated.  I do try to get around to visiting new subscribers who have blogs as soon as possible, but have fallen behind.  In the last month, we have picked up 50 new subscribers in which the majority are bloggers.  I’ll be around to visit as soon as I can.

I’m not on Twitter much, but when I am I tweet links to other blogs of posts that my Twitter followers might find interesting.   If you have a Twitter account, please consider following me on Twitter @XenaBb7.  I will follow back.

I was humbly blessed by blogger supabutterfly who honored me with a post of accomplishments.  He dug out things I did not know, such as having this blog cited in a footnote in a book published by the University of New Mexico Press.   Here’s a huge thanks to supabutterfly for his encouragement and support.

On November 3rd, I started a post for following the murder trial of ex-cop Michael Slager for the killing of Walter Scott.  That trial now enters its third week and the prosecution has not yet rested.  It has averaged 5 videos each day of trial and we post the videos in the comment section.  That section has gotten long and it appears that the trial might proceed for another two weeks.  I am going to post another thread to summarize what has happened in the trial and so we can continue following.

Jury selection was scheduled in federal court in the trial of Dylann Roof.  Roof is charged with hate crimes, obstruction of religion and other counts in the fatal shooting of nine black parishioners at the Emanuel AME Church in June 2015.  The jury will consist of 12 and 6 alternates. Selection was halted however, with the filing of a motion by Roof’s defense lawyers.

CNN reports that the motion concerned Roof’s competency to stand trial.  Federal Judge Gergel said he would rule on the motion by November 18, and that jury selection will start on November 21, the Monday before Thanksgiving.

Meanwhile, letters supporting Roof and referencing racial violence were sent to Mother Emanuel church, James Island County Park and several hotels.  The letters were sent outside of the United States, and includes Canada and the United Kingdom.  The FBI and Charleston police are investigating.

In case you haven’t noticed, I’ve added “trials” to the top menu.  I’m still working to get all trials reported on since 2012 under that menu topic.  Remember you can always use the “search” box on the right-side border to search for topics.  It also allows for searching according to name.

Guest blogger Yahtzeebutterfly’s This Month In Black American History is scheduled for posting this evening.   She does excellent work providing accomplishments and events.  As the month goes on, she puts additional historical notes in the comment section.

With the presidential election still being of interest, along with protests across America and lots of other issues, participants might want to discuss and/or share whatever is on their mind.  Let’s not forget our Native American brothers and sisters in South Dakota who are fighting the good fight for clean water and respect for their sacred land.

Feel free to use this for open discussion.

Let’s keep our heads up and hold onto love, faith and hope.

 

 

 

Posted on 11/14/2016, in open discussion, Potpourri and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. yahtzeebutterfly

    ”Let’s keep our heads up and hold onto love, faith and hope.” </blockquote.
    Yes…let’s do.

    We are in for a stormy roller coaster ride that I certainly didn’t want. We are in this together, and I, in my day to day life, will be watching out for and supporting any person I see who needs my help against any racist or homophobic hate that might be directed toward her/him.

    https://youthandeldersja.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/one-love-what-one-can-do.jpg

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Dear Xena and friends,

    This is the time to have each other’s backs. This includes including extending the hand to those hurting Americans who ended up voting for DT (those who are not part of the racists and haters). Many of those who voted for DT in 2016, also voted for President Obama in 2008 and 2012.

    But we will always stand against all purveyors of hate!

    Hugs, Gronda

    Liked by 3 people

  3. For the last 6 months or so I have deliberately heartily greeted those Trump has spouted hate against. I want everyone to know I do not support the hate he has unleashed.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. yahtzeebutterfly

    Good and important advice at this link

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’m reading disagreements over the safety pin symbolism. Can we start a discussion regarding it?

    I’ve read that for people wearing the safety pin, they should be prepared to speak up and even take action when others who are being harassed, assaulted physically or verbally, or discriminated against. If they are not prepared to speak up in those situations, then they should not wear a safety pin.

    I’ve also read that for those wearing the safety pin, to be effective, they need to be in communities or places where it means something to minorities and Muslims. Those places include, but are not limited to, the workplace and schools.

    There are even some comparisons, such as the people taking up on wearing safety pins should have worn something letting their family, neighbors and communities know that they did not support Trump BEFORE the election.

    Any thoughts?

    Liked by 2 people

    • To me it serves to let people know that I am an ally, that I am safe that I will help them and that I did not vote for Trump

      Liked by 2 people

    • yahtzeebutterfly

      When I posted about the safety pin, it was in my spirit to put myself in a more direct, intervening action that I thought might help. But, now I have been doing some listening and some reading.

      This was helpful for me:

      “Keep your safety pin.

      “The work of freedom is messy, dangerous, and intentionally uncomfortable. Here’s a simple test: If the action step you’re taking isn’t really costing you your comfort, chances are you’re not doing enough.

      “I can walk past you and see your safety pin, but will you stop, film, and intervene if you see me being pulled over or assaulted? I can listen to your progressive chatter at the water cooler, but are you protecting Planned Parenthood and a woman’s right to choose? You can tell me my life matters on Twitter, but will you show me my life matters when I need you to wait a day asking me for data because the election results have made me physically ill? Or that my queer co-worker matters when their colleagues misgender them? Or that my undocumented students matter when they need real protection?

      “Getting in the way to protect the vulnerable, building something new that empowers the marginalized, and endangering yourself to shield others are the acts of an accomplice. We need no more allies — we need accomplices. ”

      Excerpted from
      “White people: what is your plan for the Trump presidency?” by Brittany Packnett
      http://www.vox.com/first-person/2016/11/14/13626404/trump-election-protest

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Here’s an article in the Huffington Post written by a bi-sexual White man regarding the safety pin.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/dear-white-people-your-safety-pins-are-embarassing_us_58278b9de4b02b1f5257a36a

    Like

  7. Gwen Ifill, one of the most prominent African-American journalists in the country, has died after a battle with cancer. She was 61.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Just minutes ago — President Obama answers a question about Trump’s qualifications and Bannon’s hiring.

    Like

  9. i just read they will charge the shooter in the Philandro Castille case……dont know if the dash cam video has ever been released but i am certain it shows a cold blooded murder.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion