Music For A Sunday Afternoon Or Any Other Time

The following videos are among some of my favorite inspirational music.   I grew up in church where the music was uplifting.  I also grew up listening to Blues and Jazz.

Around 1983, I discovered The Allies.  Some of you might have heard the name Bob Carlisle, and might be familiar with his award-winning song “Butterfly Kisses.”  But did you know that long before then, Bob was lead singer for The Allies?  I happen to own every album they made — on (ahem) cassette tape.  Yes, I still have several cassette tape players.

The first video is a remake of the song Manish Boy by Muddy Waters.   The Allies brought the Blues into Contemporary Gospel Music.

The next two videos are by Mike Farris.  The website, Mike Farris Music, says about Mike that “Out of the arms of defeat Mike Farris has done a victory lap…He takes people who are hurting, who are broken, who think they are alone and through just the sound of his voice he lets them know that they’re not.”

The second video is Mike’s rendition of the James Taylor song You Got A Friend.   The third video is Mike shaking the house with This Little Light of Mine.  Mike’s music awards include the 2008 American Music Award for new and emerging artist; 2010 GMA Dove Award for Traditional Gospel Album of the Year, and the 2015 Grammy Award for Best Roots Gospel Album.

I hope you enjoy the songs and are inspired to keep following the path of love and hope.   Now, please excuse me while I grab my tambourine.

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on 03/26/2017, in Happiness and Kindness, music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Success Strategies

    Funny…This little light of mine…just heard this song again after a long time.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. yahtzeebutterfly

    Thanks for introducing me to Mike Farris and the Allies, Xena. I enjoyed all three videos that you posted and then went to Youtube to listen to more of theirs.

    I love this one:

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Kinda off topic but I was wondering if you’d seen this yet?

    Hahahahahahahahahah!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Dear Jill,

    Thanks for bringing this great music into our lives.

    Hugs, Gronda

    Like

Join the discussion

