AP DEM DEBATE FACT CHECK: Clinton Vs. Sanders On Wall Street

Thanks for the fact checks. I’m still applauding Bernie for telling Hillary that her term “superpredators” is racist.

The Fifth Column

Tgr2ugy3ftbmi3ntfxt3

AP Photo / Seth Wenig

TPM LIVEWIRE

A look at some of the claims in the latest Democratic presidential debate and how they compare with the facts:

CLINTON: “I’m the only one on this stage who did not vote to deregulate swaps and derivatives, as Sen. Sanders did … and that contributed to the collapse of Lehman Brothers and started the cascade.”

THE FACTS: The legislation in question was signed into law by President Bill Clinton.

Hillary Clinton was in no position to vote for — or against — it because she…

View original post 600 more words

Posted on 04/15/2016, in politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I’m not going to engage in any conversations about our Democratic candidates. I would be thrilled with a Sander’s administration. Warts and all both of our candidates are 1,000 X’s better than any offering from the fRight. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. yahtzeebutterfly

    Liked by 2 people

  3. crustyolemothman

    The only concern I have about Mz. Clinton being the candidate is the possible chance that the Anti-Clinton forces manage to somehow get an indictment over the server issue. IMO what she did was no more illegal than what had been done in the past by various other government officials up to and including Bush and Chummy. However despite the fact they could never get a conviction, the indictment would for all practical purposes remove her from running for the office of the POTUS. It would of course come at such a late time that the Democrats could not put forth a valid replacement, which is what the GOP hopes to have occur… Are we ready to take that risk?

    Like

  4. Two sides to a story

    Of course the corportocracy’s choice is Hillary because she’ll do their bidding . . . there will be all sorts of posing and posturing for the benefit of the people, and some small progress made, but otherwise, she’d kick the can down the road and life would pretty much go on as we know it. Bernie is catalyst for the people’s revolution – together we can kick big money out of politics, improve the economy, create a one-payer health care system, extend public education, tackle global warming, etc. etc. etc. While both Dem candidates are capable of handling the presidency, and both are progressive, there’s a vast difference between the two. Don’t be fooled.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Two sides, Mothman and Mindyme,
      I’m ready for the primaries and conventions to conclude so I’ll know what I have do come November. If Hillary is nominated, I won’t vote for her — will probably write-in either Bernie or Dr Jill Stein.

      Liked by 1 person

      • crustyolemothman

        My post should in no way be considered an endorsement of Mz. Clinton, While I do prefer that Bernie was the candidate, I have to be realistic and accept that the powers that be, will not allow it. IMO, vote as you wish, however you must realize that a non vote for the party candidate is in effect a vote for the GOP nominee, which would be a disaster of epic proportion’s.

        Like

        • Mothman,
          Sorry if I wasn’t clear because I didn’t take your post to be an endorsement. Taking into a consideration that a write-in vote is a vote for the GOP, well, Illinois has a record of carrying the Dem candidate. On Twitter, I’m reading more and more people saying that if Hillary is nominated, they will not vote for her. If they are in a red or swing state, I’m not sure how that will turn out.

          Like

      • Wow….what a great way to unite the party!

        Like

        • Mothman,
          Sorry if I wasn’t clear because I didn’t take your post to be an endorsement. Taking into a consideration that a write-in vote is a vote for the GOP, well, Illinois has a record of carrying the Dem candidate. On Twitter, I’m reading more and more people saying that if Hillary is nominated, they will not vote for her. If they are in a red or swing state, I’m not sure how that will turn out.

          Like

        • Roach,
          I’ve always been an independent. In 2008, I registered as a Democrat so I could vote in the primary. It was more important to me then than ever. One reason is because during the debates, I heard Hillary bring up about Rev. Wright and those she claimed were domestic terrorists who Obama associated with. Her talking point in that debate was that if he was nominated, that the Republicans were going to bring it up.

          Then came Sarah Palin, and indeed, she made those issues her talking points.

          Here is a portion of what I’m talking about.

          In 1998 however, just before the NY Times published the story about Bill and Monica, Bill Clinton invited Rev. Wright to the White House for a prayer breakfast.

          After such hypocrisy, I did not want Hillary nominated in 2008, and neither is she my choice this time around. In this year’s primary, the majority of votes in the city of Chicago were for Sanders. We do not forget.

          Like

