Bree Newsome Speaks For The 1st Time After Taking Down Confederate Flag from State Capitol

GOOD BLACK NEWS

EDITOR’S NOTE: Over the weekend, a young freedom fighter and community organizer mounted an awe-inspiring campaign to bring down the Confederate battle flag. Brittany “Bree” Newsome, in a courageous act of civil disobedience, scaled a metal pole using a climbing harness, to remove the flag from the grounds of the South Carolina state capitol. Her long dread locks danced in the wind as she descended to the ground while quoting scripture. She refused law enforcement commands to end her mission and was immediately arrested along with ally James Ian Tyson, who is also from Charlotte, North Carolina.

Bree Newsome arrest feature

Earlier this week, social justice activist and blogger Shaun King offered a “bounty” on the flag and offered to pay any necessary bail bond fees. Newsome declined the cash reward, asking that all proceeds go to funds supporting victims of the Charleston church massacre. Social media users raised more than $75,000 to fund legal…

View original post 1,859 more words

Posted on 06/30/2015, in Confederate Flag, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Awesome.

    Like

  2. Liked by 1 person

  3. Like

  4. Liked by 2 people

  5. I love what Bree did! And she didn’t do it under the cover of darkness like a coward. I am so proud of her and for her!

    Liked by 1 person

    • yahtzeebutterfly

      Absolutely, Mindy!

      She has inner strength and faith.

      I think this song expresses the very essence of Bree Newsome’s being:

      “Something Inside So Strong”

      ”The higher you build your barriers the taller I become!”

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Liked by 3 people

  7. yahtzeebutterfly

    “You come against me with hatred and oppression and violence.
    I come against you in the name of God.”
    ~Bree Newsome

    Liked by 1 person

  8. yahtzeebutterfly

    Rev. William Barber, president of the North Carolina NAACP, called Bree’s action “an act of prayerful, non-violent civil disobedience.”

    He went on to state:

    “I believe her action is another nonviolent action of grace that should arrest and imprison our conscience.

    We must see that one urgently required step toward real healing is a new comprehensive Civil Rights Act for this time and a renewal of the Voting Rights Act. We cannot wait for further martyrs, more bloodshed, the continued weight of our national grief.

    Legislation will not heal all trauma, prevent all pains–it never has—but it is a necessity today to place our government on the right side of history–the side that refuses to perpetuate the legacy and vestiges of white supremacy and black subjugation that is our nation’s inheritance.”

    Photo taken after Bree removed the flag:

    Like

  9. That is a beautiful sight, that abandoned pole.

    Like

  10. Like

  11. Like

  12. yahtzeebutterfly

    You can find more art honoring Bree at this link:

    http://other98.com/best-bree-newsome-tributes/

    Like

  13. Ms. Bree reminds us all to ACT. We don’t have to wait until “the right time”. We don’t need 100 pals, a perfect plan, a defense fund, a garenteed outcome, or the certainty of no consequences to pay.
    Just ACT because you are a human being. Others will follow.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. yahtzeebutterfly

    Sonya Craig artwork of Bree:

    Like

  15. Thank-YOU, Xena! I really need to clarify my comment above, so I hope that’s okay.When I spoke of people taking risks without always expecting a significant degree of certainty regarding the consequences, legal support, etc, I was basically addressing white people. I should have made that clear, because the idea of me urging African American people to
    take that advice is ludicrous and racist – since obviously, millions of Black people in
    countless communities ALREADY risk their lives every day, just by walking down the street or driving to the store. To your white allies, I say if Black Lives matter so much, why aren’t some white bodies standing between those lives and the bullets? Of course we must not squander our lives, but if we are not prepared to risk them, what message are we sending Black citizens? No message that they haven’t already gotten, I can promise you that.
    Let us finally, once and for all, send the African-American people a promise we will be honored to keep, one they have paid the price for 100 times over in blood.

    P.S. I apologize for the speech. Thank-you for allowing me this space to express it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Claire,
      Personally, I don’t think that your previous comment needed clarification, but I’m happy that you expounded on it. You know, not once have I stated my race publicly. From the beginning, I wanted people to get to know me by my heart. An internet gang of White Supremacists tried defaming me by telling others that I’m a “black racist.” I think what I’ve shared here throughout the years was perceived by them as something that only a Black person would do to advocate for equal rights. (I want to keep them wondering, too.)

      I say if Black Lives matter so much, why aren’t some white bodies standing between those lives and the bullets?

      Bullets do not always have to be the type that are shot from guns, so there are many areas where people of all races who have the same interests can stand together. Based on my experience, what stops them is fear. They are afraid of losing what they have accumulated in life. They are afraid of having their reputations ruined or attacked by those who attack every Black activist and advocate that gains momentum. They are afraid of being attacked by other Whites who fail to understand the entire picture.

      Fear is a powerful thing. It’s used by haters to keep otherwise good people from stepping forward.

      Liked by 2 people

  16. Hmm. I see what you mean. I wish I could maintain that kind of perspective over time, but I usually can’t pull it off for longer than a week or two. When I was a newspaper reporter, they’d send me to cover a criminal trial and I’d end up as one of the defendants! (not really – I’d get contempt charges) .
    I admire your compassion and the long-term scope of your view. I’ll think more about what you’ve said. Thanks for that.

    Like

    • Claire, it’s something that I’ve notice throughout the years. When I was in college in the 70’s, there were many people of diversity who wanted to help in advocating for equal rights, equal justice, women’s rights, animal rights, you name it. There was one group that advocated for the right for men to wear their hair long. 🙂

      When they began experiencing that some professors started giving out low grades, it sent a message. When their Landlords suddenly lost the rent check, it sent a message. When the tires on their hand-me-down car that was running by the grace of God came up slashed, it sent a message.

      What I distinctly remember is that all of us swore a commitment to equality when we obtained decision making positions in the workplace. This included a medical student who made that commitment after a debate. If I might share; he was concerned and very critical of mothers who brought their children to the emergency room in the evenings. He could not understand why they did not take the children to a doctor. Well, at that time, there were no HMOs, PPOs, or such. It was “Hospitalization Insurance” that covered emergency room visits and inpatient services only.

      After he learned that most working mothers, even those married, could not afford physician visits with outpatient lab tests, he changed his tune. His criticism was dissolved by knowledge.

      Overall, I think what we learned from that era, is that people must stick together. Everyone cannot be attacked at the same time. We also learned during that era and there was power in the press. Now, journalists have pretty much gone by the wayside and what newspapers have are “reporters” who only write what they hear or are told, and even that at the discretion of their editor. After the 70’s, many editors were overcome by fear.

      (not really – I’d get contempt charges)

      LOL! You must have been one of those reporters who expressed your opinion openly in court. You may have heard of the late Sherman Skolnick. Before he became known as a “conspiracy theorist,” Sherman is the man who obtained information and documents that led to the resignation of two Illinois Supreme Court Justices, and made John Paul Stevens leading to his appointment to the U.S. Supreme Court. He also taught journalism classes. One of the things he said about being in a courtroom is that if it’s a late hearing, and you see the bailiff head towards the door, it is going to be locked and the judge is going to find someone in contempt of court. He actually recommended that no “controversial” journalist ever observe in a late courtroom hearing.

      Liked by 1 person

