Rev. Al Sharpton Leads Florida March Against Stand Your Ground

Thanks for the info. Re-blogging to help get the word out.

End Stand Your Ground

Reverend Al Sharpton and the National Action Network will be joined by the parents of Trayvon Martin and Jordan Davis, and Attorney Benjamin Crump as they lead a march through Tallahassee on March 10th calling for a repeal of “Stand Your Ground’ laws in Florida.

Nation Action Network Stand Your Ground Rally

Participants are asked to arrive by 9:00 a.m. for the march, which starts at 9:30 a.m. from the Tallahassee Leon County Civic Center, 505 W. Pensacola St., and ends at the State Capitol at 400 S. Monroe St.

A rally at the State Capitol will immediately follow the march.

Last week, Sharpton joined many others in decrying the verdict in the Michael Dunn trial. In a statement, Sharpton said, “The mistrial further sends a chilling effect to parents in the twenty-three states that have the stand your ground law or laws similar. It requires the civil rights community to head into Florida, which is now ground zero for…

View original post 7 more words

Posted on 02/26/2014, in Potpourri and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. This is a crucial time for this rally with the FL legislature considering that extra SYG bill!

    Like


  2. July 16, 2013

    Like

  3. Just a note;
    Last year, the fan on my laptop stopped working and I took it to get fixed. The guy who replaced the fan said that other parts were brittle because of the heat so if it happened again, it would not be worth fixing.

    Well, it’s happening again. My laptop is running hot. Until I replace my computer, I’ll be online for only a few minutes at a time. This weekend I hope to have a new computer.

    Like

    • Sorry to hear about your computer.

      Sounds like an enforced opportunity to rest up.

      Like

      • Yahtzee,
        Rest up??? LOL!! Let’s see — there are 4 door mats that are showing signs of this winter. They need my attention. LOL!

        I might re-blog and post an open discussion until I get my new computer and the data transfer — which I’m hoping will be completed this weekend.

        Like

    • Staples sells a laptop fan, it sits underneath the computer and plugs into a USB port. I use it on mine to make sure it gets enough air and cools. When you shut the laptop it shuts down unless you have the power plug still in.

      Like

      • towerflower,
        Thanks for the info. I will have to go online to check and order from Staples. There are no Staples in my neck of the woods, — I would have to commute to Wisconsin. 😦

        Since the guy who replaced the fan last year said there are parts that are brittle from the heat, and since I’ve had the laptop since 2010, it might be time for a new and improved laptop now, but I’ll look into the laptop fan that you suggest to avoid having this problem with the new computer.

        Like

  4. Like

  5. Trayvon Martin’s parents still fighting ‘Stand Your Ground’ 2 years after son’s death

    by Joy-Ann Reid | February 26, 2014

    http://thegrio.com/2014/02/26/trayvon-martins-parents-still-fighting-stand-your-ground-2-years-after-sons-death/

    Like

