“Enough To Move A Mountain, Make A Blind Man See”

In 1968, my high school senior trip was to New York.  There, I purchased Flower Power 1the first album released by The Young Rascals. Subsequently, they changed their name to The Rascals.  I bought every album they released.   In 1969, I saw them live in concert in Chicago.  They were a band ahead of their time.

This week, the words from “People Got To Be Free” played in my head, especially the line, “enough to move a mountain, make a blind man see.”   Yes, the desire for all of mankind to be free generates a feeling that makes it just that obvious.

My older sister, who in 1968 was already an adult and blues fan, criticized me for liking a band of Italian guys out of New Jersey who weren’t playing the blues.  It was during the wave of British bands who got their start by remaking the songs of Muddy Waters, Little Richard, Chuck Berry, Willie Dixon, and Rufus Thomas.   But, the Rascals were original.  They were “flower power” with songs about freedom, hope, equality and brotherhood.   More than that, it was their harmony, Felix’s talent playing the organ, and their unmistakable voices.

My sister changed her opinion after the Rascals released Groovin’, which she heard for the first time in a Chicago, Westside hole in the wall.  Of course, I had the record months before she heard it.  When I played records however, she would close the door to my bedroom, the door that separated the front of the house from the area where her bedroom was, and the door to her bedroom.  (Did I play records that loud?)

After getting her attention with Groovin’, I was able to introduce her to other Rascals’ songs; such as “Ray of Hope” that the Rascals wrote about political hope in Ted Kennedy after the assassinations of Martin L. King, racial equalityJohn Kennedy and Bobby Kennedy.  My sister forgave me.  I knew she did because she took my Rascals’ albums to her room.  I forgave her after I took them back and hid them so she would have to ask me for them next time.

As I was looking on Youtube for “People Got To Be Free” showing the band; Felix, Eddie, Dino and Gene, I discovered that this year, they got back together.  Not only are they back together, but they are coming to Chicago in November.  I’ll be there with my headband, peace symbol necklace, and tambourine.

Here are the Rascals, 1969 and 2013.

The Rascals, 2013

The Rascals 2013

The Rascals, 2013

The Rascals 1970

The Rascals 1970

Posted on 10/25/2013, in Potpourri, Videos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Such an awesome post to wake up too! Thank You Xena.

    Like

  2. Xena,

    Wow! Just the message that I and the world need to hear! Thank you so much for reminding me of these great inspiring songs.

    I love what you wrote to us:

    >This week, the words from “People Got To Be Free” played in my head, especially the line, “enough to move a mountain, make a blind man see.” Yes, the desire for all of mankind to be free generates a feeling that makes it just that obvious.

    I am going to post the lyrics because these songs have such a powerful message and as you write:

    They were “flower power” with songs about freedom, hope, equality and brotherhood.

    Like

    • “People Got To Be Free”

      All the world over, so easy to see

      People everywhere just wanna be free

      Listen, please listen, that’s the way it should be
      
Peace in the valley, people got to be free

      
You should see, what a lovely, lovely world this would be

      If everyone learned to live together
      
It seems to me such an easy, easy thing this would be

      Why can’t you and me learn to love one another

      
All the world over, so easy to see

      People everywhere just wanna be free
      
I can’t understand it, so simple to me
      
People everywhere just got to be free


      Ah, ah, yeah . . . ah, ah, yeah
      
If there’s a man who is down and needs a helping hand

      All it takes is you to understand and to see him through

      Seems to me, we got to solve it individually

      
And I’ll do unto you what you do to me

      There’ll be shoutin’ from the mountains on out to sea
      No two ways about it, people have to be free
      
Ask me my opinion, my opinion will be

      It’s a natural situation for a man to be free
      
Oh, what a feelin’s just come over me
      
Enough to move a mountain, make a blind man see
      
Everybody’s dancin’, come on, let’s go see


      Peace in the valley, now they want to be free

      Like

      • “A Ray of Hope”

        Excerpt:

        Most people got soul if they wanna try
        
Let love be your goal and let it fly
’
        Cause it’s easy to hate and to draw a line
        
But error is human forgiveness is divine

        I know a lot of people who think like me

        That this world can be a place that’s filled with harmony

        First there’s a lot of things, we’ve got to rearrange
        
Put an end to hate and lies

        So peace can come and truth shall reign
        
As long as there is a ray of hope

        Lord, I don’t mind going out

        And doin’ my work
        
Light up the way to brotherhood

        Help us to make His dream understood

        Like

  3. Not only are they back together, but they are coming to Chicago in November.

    I’ll be there with my headband, peace symbol necklace, and tambourine.

    Good for you, Xena! How wonderful!

    I just gotta post this here to add to the that flower power spirit:

    Like

Your comments are welcomed.

